Back to PRIM&R Home ConferenceHeader
  • Keynote Speakers

    Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient and Keynote Speaker – April 1, 2016, 8:30-9:15 AM

    Bernard RollinBernard E. Rollin, PhD
    University Distinguished Professor, professor of philosophy, professor of biomedical sciences, professor of animal sciences, and University bioethicist, Colorado State University

    Bernard E. Rollin, PhD, is University Distinguished Professor, professor of philosophy, professor of biomedical sciences, professor of animal sciences, and University bioethicist at Colorado State University. He was a major architect of the 1985 US Federal laws protecting laboratory animals. Dr. Rollin is the author of 20 books, including Natural and Conventional Meaning, Animal Rights and Human Morality and The Unheeded Cry: Animal Consciousness, Animal Pain and Scientific Change, Farm Animal Welfare, The Frankenstein Syndrome, Science and Ethics, Veterinary Medical Ethics: Theory and Cases (which has been translated into Spanish and Japanese), Complementary and Alternative Veterinary Medicine Considered (with David Ramey), The Well-Being of Farm Animals: Challenges and Solutions (with John Benson), Equine Welfare  (with Wayne McIwraith), Animal Welfare in Animal Agriculture (with Wilson Pond and Fuller Bazer), and over 600 articles.  He has edited a two-volume work titled, The Experimental Animal in Biomedical Research. Dr. Rollin is considered the “father of veterinary ethics” and, for 20 years, has written a popular monthly column on veterinary ethics for the Canadian Veterinary Journal. He recently published his autobiography, Putting the Horse Before Descartes. His latest book is titled, A New Approach to Animal Ethics: Telos and Common Sense, forthcoming in 2016. Dr. Rollin is one of the leading scholars in animal ethics and animal consciousness, and he has lectured over 1500 times in 28 countries. Dr. Rollin is a founder and board member of Optibrand, an animal identification company utilizing retinal images. He developed the world’s first courses in veterinary medical ethics, ethical issues in animal science, and biology combined with philosophy. He served on the Pew National Commission on Industrial Farm Animal Production and served on the Institute for Laboratory Animal Resources Council of the National Academy of Sciences. Dr. Rollin is the winner of numerous US and international awards, including the American Veterinary Medical Association Humane Award (2007) and the Rocky Mountain Farmers Union Lifetime Achievement Award (2012). In addition, he is a weightlifter, horseman, and motorcyclist. PRIM&R is pleased to honor Dr. Rollin with the 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award.

    Henry Spira Memorial Lecturer – April 1, 2016, 1:45-2:30 PM

    Joseph GarnerJoseph Garner, DPhil
    Associate Professor, Department of Comparative Medicine; Courtesy Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences; Member, Child Health Research Institute, Stanford University

    Joseph Garner, DPhil, is an associate professor in the department of comparative medicine, a courtesy associate professor in the department of psychiatry and behavioral sciences, and a member of the Child Health Research Institute at Stanford University. Dr. Garner runs Stanford’s Technique Refinement and Innovation Lab, which provides 3Rs support services for researchers on campus. The overarching theme of Dr. Garner’s research is understanding why most drugs (and other basic science findings) fail to translate into human outcomes, the role that animal models and methodology play in these failures, and developing new approaches to improve the translation and benefits of animal research while minimizing welfare impacts. Dr. Garner is an internationally recognized expert in the behavior and welfare of laboratory mice, including awards from the National Center for the 3Rs (UK), AALAS, the Swiss Laboratory Animal Science Association, and the Universities Federation for Animal Welfare. Dr. Garner also works extensively in human health, both as a researcher and an advocate. Dr. Garner’s current human health research is focused on animal and human studies in autism, and animal work in trichotillomania and skin-picking. The question driving all of this work is “Why does one sibling become ill and another does not?,” and the goal is to identify biomarkers leading to screening, prevention, and personalized treatment options. Dr. Garner’s advocacy work includes serving on scientific advisory boards for the Trichotillomania Learning Center, the Tourette Syndrome Association, and the Beautiful You Mayer-Rokitansky-Kuster-Hauser Foundation.

    Keynote Speaker – April 2, 2016, 8:15-9:00 AM

    Jeff MogilJeffrey S. Mogil, BSc, PhD
    E.P. Taylor Professor of Pain Studies; Canada Research Chair in the Genetics of Pain; 
    Director, Alan Edwards Centre for Research on Pain, McGill University

    Jeffrey S. Mogil, BSc, PhD, is the E.P. Taylor Professor of Pain Studies, the Canada Research Chair in the Genetics of Pain, and the director at the Alan Edwards Centre for Research on Pain at McGill University. He received a BSc (Honours) in psychology from the University of Toronto in 1988, and a PhD in neuroscience from the University of California, Los Angeles in 1993. After a postdoctoral fellowship in Portland, OR from 1993 to 1996, Dr. Mogil joined the faculty of the department of psychology at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He moved to McGill University in 2001. Dr. Mogil has made seminal contributions to the field of pain genetics, and is the author of most major reviews of the subject, including editor of the only textbook, The Genetics of Pain (IASP Press, 2004). He is also a recognized authority in the fields of sex differences in pain and analgesia, and algesiometric testing in the laboratory mouse. Dr. Mogil is the author of over 195 articles and book chapters since 1992, his papers have been cited over 9,500 times, and he has given over 280 invited lectures. Dr. Mogil holds or has held funding from the US National Institutes of Health, Canada Foundation for Innovation, Neuroscience Canada, Canadian Institutes for Health Research, The Louise and Alan Edwards Foundation, the Krembil Foundation, Brain Canada, and the pharmaceutical/biotech industry. He is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Neal E. Miller New Investigator Award from the Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research (1998), the John C. Liebeskind Early Career Scholar Award from the American Pain Society (1998), the Patrick D. Wall Young Investigator Award from the International Association for the Study of Pain (2002), the Early Career Award from the Canadian Pain Society (2004), the SGV Prize from the Swiss Laboratory Animal Science Association (2012), and the Frederick W.L. Kerr Basic Science Research Award (a lifetime achievement award) from the American Pain Society (2013). He has served as a section editor (Neurobiology) at the journal, Pain, since 2008, and was the chair of the Scientific Planning Committee for the 13th World Congress on Pain in August, 2010.